REF : 9780755383214

The Shifting Tide (William Monk Mystery, Book 14)

  • Epub
A stolen loot and a dying woman... what is the secret that binds the two? William and Hester Monk face intrigue and mystery in the docks of Victorian... Voir le descriptif
 
2,99 €

Livre numérique

   
Offrir un livre numérique

Offrez
un livre numérique

Vous souhaitez partager votre passion pour la lecture et faire découvrir la lecture numérique par la même occasion ?
Pour cela rien de plus simple !

Cliquez sur « Télécharger » depuis la page de l’ebook de votre choix.
Cochez la case « Offrir ce produit » lors de la validation de votre panier.
Saisissez l’adresse email de la personne à qui vous souhaitez faire ce cadeau. Validez la commande.

Votre proche recevra par email un lien lui permettant de télécharger son/ses ebook(s) et vous recevrez un email de confirmation de votre commande.

Descriptif

A stolen loot and a dying woman... what is the secret that binds the two?

William and Hester Monk face intrigue and mystery in the docks of Victorian London's East End in Anne Perry's gripping novel The Shifting Tide. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.

'With her visionary sensibility, Anne Perry is the master of the "you are there" school of hist-myst storytelling... [Here are] scenes that could have come out of Dickens' Our Mutual Friend' - New York Times Book Review

When the Maude Idris docks at the Pool of London, laden with ebony, spices and first-grade tusks of ivory collected from her voyage to Zanzibar, Clement Louvain leaves four armed seamen on board to guard the precious cargo. But as soon as the relief for the night watch arrives ready for duty in the morning, he finds the ivory gone and one of the seamen dead. Hindered by his ignorance of the river and its customs, and ashamed of the fact that he so badly requires the huge fees that Louvain is prepared to pay, William Monk nevertheless begins his investigation into the theft and murder.

Meanwhile Hester's work at the refuge at Portpool Lane is encountering acute financial difficulties. Sick prostitutes are arriving daily and the medicines needed to help them are running out. When a man arrives promising to pay a huge amount of money for the care of one particular woman, Hester is astonished to meet him. He is none other than Clement Louvain. So who is the woman he is so generously helping? And why is he offering such a substantial sum? Will Monk discover what Louvain is hiding before it is too late?

What readers are saying about The Shifting Tide:

'The best Monk mystery yet'

'She has sculpted the characters beautifully'

'This novel is a real page-turner; a "curl up, not-put-the-book-down-till-the-last-page" weekend!'

Fiche technique

The Shifting Tide (William Monk Mystery, Book 14)
Auteur :
Editeur (Livre) :
Collection : William Monk Mystery
Date sortie / parution :
EAN commerce : 9780755383214
Support (Livre) : Ebook Epub
Format Ebook : Epub
Type de protection : Contenu protégé